电池市场

korea-china-japan

由于在便携式电子设备中广泛使用,以及在电动工具、电动汽车、电网和分布式能源存储系统的使用日益增多,锂离子电池的市场份额近年来显著增加。韩国、中国和日本加起来占全球锂离子电池产量的85%至90%。2011年,韩国超过日本成为锂离子电池制造领域的全球领导者,1991年至2011年日本一直是锂离子电池制造领域的全球领导者。

由于锂离子电池的市场份额不断增加,其他国家也相继进入了电池制造行业。德国、瑞士和美国近期已经开始布局,可以肯定的是还有更多的国家会加入。2012年,全世界生产的锂离子电池为28吉瓦时(GWh),这个数字目前约为35GWh,一个崭新的锂离子电池“超级工厂”时代即将到来,必将带动锂消耗显著提高。

Courtesy of: Visual Capitalist

 

超级电池工厂

这些超级工厂中最有名的当属特斯拉的超级锂离子电池工厂(Gigafactory),位于内华达州斯帕克斯附近,预计产能为50GWh,2014年破土动工,2016年7月29日开业。

电动汽车

说到电动汽车,就不得不提到特斯拉。特斯拉成立于2003年,2008年推出了使用锂离子电池的跑车Roadster,可以在3.7秒提速到每小时60英里(97公里/小时),充电一次可行驶245英里(394公里)。四年后的2012年,特斯拉推出了全球首款的电动轿车——Model S,第二年,Model S被评为Motor Trend年度车型,并获得美国国家公路交通安全管理局的5星评级。2013年,由于率先预料到了锂离子电池的强劲需求,特斯拉宣布了建立大型工厂的意图,目的是实现规模经济,并通过创新制造、减少物流浪费、优化合作流程和减少开销来降低成本,也就是后来我们知道的特斯拉超级电池工厂,到2020年,特斯拉超级工厂每年生产的锂离子电池将超过2013年时全球锂离子电池总量。超级工厂于2014年6月在美国内华达州的斯帕克斯附近破土动工。2015年,特斯拉推出了新款的跨界车Model X,并在2016年3月发布了未来大众市场电动汽车Model 3的计划。2016年7月29日,特斯拉为超级工厂举办了盛大的开业典礼。

电动汽车成为主流

全球电动汽车销量增长势头强劲,过去三年同比增长至少50%,其中电动汽车基础设施的发展和技术进步是推动这一增长的主要因素。在特斯拉的带领下,全球主流的制造商们都逐渐意识到了这一潜在的机遇规模,增加了在电动汽车研发上投入的资源。

WW-A-6-2016


固定式能源存储

近年来,在可再生能源生产方面的进展正在加速,装机容量超过预期。根据国际能源署的数据,风能和太阳能光伏发电是全球增长最快的电力来源。当然, 对于可再生能源的批评总是离不开那句老掉牙的话,“风不可能每天都吹,太阳也不是每天都会出来。”真实的情况是,风能和太阳能发电都是间歇性的,受到风和光照变化的限制,但是在生产超过消耗的时候,电能可以储存,而当生产低于消耗时,电能又会返回到电网中。电能究竟是如何储存的呢,答案就是电池,而且越来越多的是锂离子电池。2014到2015年,全球能源存储收入从$4.62亿激增至$21亿。据英国能源和气候变化部门(DECC)预测,2020年能源存储市场规模将达到$170亿,2030年达到$300亿。

英国商品研究所称,钠硫电池在全球电池储存市场中占有的份额最大,2015年时为50%。尽管锂离子电池目前的市场份额约为35%,但是预计未来将超过钠硫电池成为全球电池存储市场中的主流。

电网级和分布式能源存储

目前无论是公用事业还是住宅(分布式能源存储)层面,能源存储都在快速增长。虽然公用事业层面的大型存储项目目前仍然占主流,但是家庭和企业客户层面的小容量电池存储未来在产能上将居上。特斯拉目前已经推出了企业和住宅用户的能源存储解决方案Powerpack和Powerwall。在特斯拉的股东大会上,埃隆•马斯克表示,固定能源存储的增长速度将是特斯拉汽车的若干倍。

研究报告

欲下载德意志银行关于电动汽车电池行业的市场研究报告,请点击下方图片:

db-report

The Battery Market

korea-china-japan

Due to their extensive use in portable electronic devices and growing use in electric tools, electric vehicles and grid and distributed energy storage systems, the market share of lithium-ion batteries has increased markedly in recent years. The Republic of Korea, China and Japan together account for 85% to 90% of global lithium-ion battery production. In 2011, The Republic of Korea became the global leader in lithium-ion battery manufacturing, overtaking Japan, the leading lithium-ion battery producer since 1991.

As a result of the continued increasing market share of lithium-ion batteries, several additional countries have entered the battery manufacturing industry.  Germany, Switzerland and the United States have recently established operations with more sure to follow. The world produced 28 gigawatt hours (GWh) of lithium-ion battery cells in 2012. While current global production stands at around 35 GWh, a new era of lithium-ion battery “Megafactories” is upon us and is set to significantly increase the consumption of lithium.

Courtesy of: Visual Capitalist

 

The Gigafactory

The most well-known of these Megafactories is Tesla’s Gigafactory, a lithium-ion battery manufacturing facility located near Sparks, Nevada, forecasted to produce 50 GWh. Tesla broke ground on the Gigafactory in 2014 and held the official Grand Opening on July 29, 2016.

Electric Vehicles

Any discussion of electric vehicles must begin with Tesla Motors. Incorporated in 2003, Tesla launched its Roadster in 2008, a car capable of accelerating from 0-60 mph (97 km/h) in 3.7 seconds and travelling 245 miles (394 kilometres) per charge on a lithium-ion battery. Four years later in 2012, Tesla launched the world’s first premium electric sedan – Model S. The following year, Model S was named Motor Trend’s Car of the Year and achieved a 5-star rating from the United States National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. In 2013, owing to its anticipated strong demand for lithium-ion batteries, Tesla announced its intentions to build a large scale factory to achieve economies of scale and minimize costs through innovative manufacturing, reduction of logistics waste, optimization of co-located processes and reduced overhead. The large scale factory, known as “The Gigafactory,” is designed to reduce cell costs much faster than the status quo and, by 2020, produce more lithium-ion batteries annually than were produced worldwide in 2013. Tesla broke ground on the Gigafactory in June 2014 near Sparks, Nevada. In 2015, Tesla launched its new crossover vehicle, Model X and, in March of 2016, Tesla unveiled plans for its future mass market electric vehicle – Model 3. On July 29, 2016, Tesla held the “Grand Opening” for the Gigafactory.

Electric Vehicles Going Mainstream

Global electric vehicle sales have been gaining significant momentum, increasing by at least 50% year-over-year for the last three years, with electric vehicle infrastructure development and technological advancements being the main catalysts for this growth. Following Tesla’s lead and recognizing the potential size of the opportunity, mainstream manufacturers have been responding by increasing the amount of resources deployed on electric vehicle development.

WW-A-6-2016


Stationary Energy Storage

The march towards renewable energy production is gathering steam with installed capacity exceeding expectations in recent years. According to the International Energy Agency, wind and solar photovoltaics are the fastest-growing sources of electricity globally. Critics of renewable energy proliferation often rely on the tired old adage that “the wind doesn’t always blow and the sun doesn’t always shine.” While it’s true that electricity generation from both technologies is intermittent, constrained by the variability of wind and sunshine, electrical energy can be stored during times when production exceeds consumption and returned to the grid when production falls below consumption. How is electrical energy stored? In batteries, of which an increasing proportion is lithium-ion. Global revenue from energy storage increased from $462 million in 2014 to $2.1 billion in 2015. The U.K.’s Department of Energy and Climate Change (DECC) has stated that the energy storage market will reach $17 billion in 2020 and nearly $30 billion in 2030.

According to CRU Group, sodium sulfur batteries have the largest share of the global battery storage market accounting for 50% in 2015. While lithium-ion batteries accounted for approximately 35% of the market, they are expected to surpass sodium sulfur batteries and account for the majority of batteries used in the global battery storage market.

Grid-scale and Distributed Energy Storage

Energy storage is proliferating on both a utility and residential (distributed energy storage) level. While large storage projects on the utility’s side of the meter currently dominate deployments, smaller batteries in homes and businesses on the customer’s side of the meter will become the largest segment in terms of capacity. Tesla has developed solutions for businesses and residences with the introduction of the Powerpack and Powerwall, respectively. At a Tesla meeting of shareholders, Elon Musk stated that the rate of growth of stationary storage will be several times that of the car side of Tesla.

Research Reports

To download the Deutsche Bank Markets Research Report on the EV battery industry, click the image below:

db-report