锂的介绍

什么是锂?

锂是一种化学元素,元素符号Li,原子序数3,是一种柔软的银白色金属,属于碱金属的一种。在标准条件下,锂是金属中最轻的同时也是密度最小的固体元素。和所有的碱金属一样,锂具有高度的活性和可燃性,因此通常储存在矿物油中。切开时,锂会呈现出一种金属光泽,但与潮湿的空气接触后,金属表面会迅速被侵蚀,变成暗淡的银灰色,然后变黑。由于反应活性强,锂在自然界中通常只以离子化合物的形态出现。锂存在于许多微晶矿物和海水中,通常可从盐水和黏土获取。

锂原子的原子核稳定性差,因为自然界中发现的两种稳定的锂同位素在所有稳定的核素中具有的结合能是最低的。由于锂相对的核不稳定性,尽管其原子核的原子重量非常轻,锂的常见程度在太阳系靠前的32种化学元素中排名第26位。也正是因为这些原因,锂与核物理的联系密切。1932年,锂原子转化为氦是历史上第一个完全人造的核反应,而锂-6氘化物作为一种聚变燃料,应用在了分阶段的热核武器中。

锂及其化合物也具有工业用途,包括锂电池、锂离子电池、耐热玻璃和陶瓷、锂润滑脂以及铁、钢和铝生产的助溶剂。这些用途消耗了四分之三以上的锂产量。

锂的应用

虽然锂市场应地理位置而异,但是全球最终用途市场预计如下:电池,35%;陶瓷和玻璃,32%;润滑脂,9%;空气处理和连铸模熔剂粉,各占5%;聚合物生产,4%;电解铝生产,1%;其他用途,9%。其他用途包括农用化学品、合金、水泥和混凝土添加剂、染料和颜料、工业漂白和卫生产品、有机合成、制药、泳池化学品和焊接。锂精矿在全球范围内直接用于陶瓷和玻璃制品。

Lithium 101

What is Lithium?

Lithium is a chemical element with the symbol Li and atomic number 3. It is a soft, silver-white metal belonging to the alkali metal group of chemical elements. Under standard conditions, it is the lightest metal and the least dense solid element. Like all alkali metals, lithium is highly reactive and flammable. For this reason, it is typically stored in mineral oil. When cut open, it exhibits a metallic luster, but contact with moist air corrodes the surface quickly to a dull silvery gray, then black tarnish. Because of its high reactivity, lithium never occurs freely in nature, and instead, appears only in compounds, which are usually ionic. Lithium occurs in a number of pegmatitic minerals, is present in ocean water and is commonly obtained from brines and clays.

The nucleus of the lithium atom verges on instability, since the two stable lithium isotopes found in nature have among the lowestbinding energies per nucleon of all stable nuclides. Because of its relative nuclear instability, lithium is less common in the solar system than 25 of the first 32 chemical elements even though the nuclei are very light in atomic weight. For related reasons, lithium has important links to nuclear physics. The transmutation of lithium atoms to helium in 1932 was the first fully man-made nuclear reaction, and lithium-6 deuteride serves as a fusion fuel in staged thermonuclear weapons.

Lithium and its compounds have several industrial applications, including heat-resistant glass and ceramics, lithium greaselubricants, flux additives for iron, steel and aluminium production, lithium batteries, and lithium-ion batteries. These uses consume more than three quarters of lithium production.

Lithium Applications

Although lithium markets vary by location, global end-use markets are estimated as follows: batteries, 35%; ceramics and glass, 32%; lubricating greases, 9%; air treatment and continuous casting mold flux powders, 5% each; polymer production, 4%; primary aluminum production, 1%; and other uses, 9%. Other uses include agrochemicals, alloys, cement and concrete additives, dyes and pigments, industrial bleaching and sanitation products, organic synthesis, pharmaceuticals, pool chemicals, and welding. Lithium minerals were used directly as ore concentrates in ceramics and glass applications worldwide.